Bond V. United States ; Monumental Court Case

Se7eN

Hi everyone I just joined this forum and hope to become more of a regular around here and hopefully I can help contribute. I have done a very extensive amount of research on the law both federal and state but I am not a lawyer. People on here will soon learn I am a very strong advocate for freedom and stand to defend our constitution and our rights at all costs. Anyway in doing some research lately I ran across a recent supreme court case that just concluded on June 16, 2011.

"JUSTICE KENNEDY delivered the opinion of the Court. This case presents the question whether a person indicted for violating a federal statute has standing to challenge its validity on grounds that, by enacting it, Congress exceeded its powers under the Constitution, thus intruding upon the sovereignty and authority of the States. The indicted defendant, petitioner here, sought to ar­gue the invalidity of the statute. She relied on the Tenth Amendment, and, by extension, on the premise that Congress exceeded its powers by enacting it in contravention of basic federalism principles. The statute, 18 U. S. C. §229, was enacted to comply with a treaty; but petitioner contends that, at least in the present instance, the treaty cannot be the source of congressional power to regulate or prohibit her conduct. The Court of Appeals held that because a State was not a party to the federal criminal proceeding, petitioner had no standing to challenge the statute as an infringement upon the powers reserved to the States. Having concluded that petitioner does have standing to challenge the federal statute on these grounds, this Court now reverses that determination."