Need New Bulbs... Which Brand?

Letterhead954

It's time to buy new grow bulbs. I've been using Digilux since I started 2 1/2 years ago without any problems. However, the online reviews aren't so good. I use two 1000W HPS lights in flower and one 600W HPS in veg. What brand would you folks recommend, why, and where's the best place to get them? I can't spend a ton of money, and I can get the Digilux 1000W HPS for as low as $55 ea. Thanks for any input.

I use plantmax bulbs, they have almost the same spetrum output as an eye hortilux, for flower, and for veg i use the MH plant max bulbs.. I pay 22.00 ea,, and have seen no noticiable change in plant growth.. I have reccomended them to others and they also see no differece   ....

I order them online form,      https://www.1000bulbs.com/

Edited by Willy

I have used hortilux, ushio, sunmaster, plant max, digilux, and maxlume and probably a few others. I've have not seen any difference. About two years ago I bought four new maxlumes to replace four older bulbs. The store had a light meter so I bought that too. The new bulbs were maybe 5-10% brighter than the old ones. I replaced one bulb and checked output against the others about two weeks later and there was no significant difference. In the months that followed, there was no significant difference in brightness between the new bulb and the other three that were about a year older.

My anecdotal experience told me that unless you want to replace bulbs every couple of weeks, probably there isn't anything to gain in replacing working bulbs. In my experience, the brightness leveled off and then stayed consistent until failure. So I no longer replace working bulbs and am pleased with the decision.

In the past I have given used bulbs to new growers on a shoestring budget. I know of one grower who is using two of these used bulbs three years later and sees no reason to replace them. I can think of better ways to invest in a grow than new bulbs.

Edited by Highlander