Hash Oil Explosion.

I have only helped to make hash oil a few times. I am still learning, but one thing that was drilled into my head from the start is safety. Things like no open flames, not having you lighter on you at all, and proper airflow away from hot water heaters or any appliance that sparks, or may have a pilot light are things that were explained to me on day one. You guys are good people, please don't blow up! :P

Anyways I stumbled across this while watching a good extraction video and thought I might start a dialog about safety. Hopefully some folks with more experience that I will chime in.

No expert on it myself, but butane is heavier than air and can sink into a basement, so even with open windows it could be dangerous. Personally, I'd do it outside somewhere. BE SAFE! Remember the chemist's famous last words: "Trust me, I know what I am doing." or "And now for a cigarette." :P

If you are making either alcohol or butane hash oil there is no need for flame or fire at ANY point in the entire process. Butane even comes to a full boil at room temperature so at most a bowl of hot tap water could be used to expedite the evaporation process. Like was mentioned, please do these processes OUTSIDE. There is no reason to have to make hash oil indoors, it only adds to the already present risks and its highly unlikely that there is any flames or pilot lights if you just stayed outside to make it.

Notice also the arrogant attitude displayed by the people in the video....this is a process that demands respect and when you dont respect it, you get results like seen in the video.